Spring Blog Intro

My name is Anthony Carter, but for now you can call me “El Tony” (Far right in the picture below). I am a proud dual citizen of the U.S. and Mexico and will take my nickname El Tony with me for the rest of my life! I am a 23 year old senior at Western Washington University in the beautiful town of Bellingham, Washington. I live for my family and friends and love meeting new people. I am an outgoing and fun person to be around and I’m always ready for a good time.10157203_10152311348148114_781844826_n I truly love football and have been a Seattle Seahawks fan ever since I can remember! I literally plan my fall quarter classes with consideration of the NFL season… Since day 1 of college, I have learned the rollercoaster ups and downs that is balancing school, work and a social life.  Here at WWU, I am majoring in Business Administration with a concentration in Marketing. I am hoping to find a place of work that I enjoy going to everyday, allows me to grow as a person/employee as well as a place that allows me to help others around me. I currently work in the Financial Aid Office at WWU and feel very blessed to be a part of such a great group of people in an office that teaches you many skills that will be used for the rest of my life. Working there has giving me the utmost hope that there are great places to work, and you do not have to dread going to work everyday. Adding this blog to my plate will hopefully allow me to update my family, friends coworkers and bloggers with some of my life adventures as well as talk about current business and marketing topics! I am currently taking Marketing Digital Design to further develop my skills in the ever growing professional digital and social media world. I’m also giving a try out to my first blog.. So without further ado, let’s get to today’s topic!

 

What are we learning in school?

Is what we learn in school really going to be applied and help us in our future workplace? While conceptual marketing knowledge has a rather long life cycle, technical or vocational skills change very rapidly. This makes it difficult for business programs at universities around the U.S. to constantly update their marketing curriculum in order for it to actually be useful for students when applying for jobs. In the article, “Knowledge and Skill Requirements for Marketing Jobs of the 21 Century”, it refers to studies that have shown entry level positions relating to Business Administration or more specifically marketing, require more technical skills than the senior level positions. The senior level positions were shown to require more conceptually based knowledge which will ultimately be what students mostly learned in their college classes.

Business programs in universities around the U.S. have begun to create more involved classes using modern programs in order to prepare young professionals to what they will eventually see in related fields of work.

untitled

As far as technical skills are emerging in todays modern social world. The ability for students to effectively and professionally convey a businesses message requires much skill as a person and an modern day influencer. This is a growing trait that many business are now considering essential for many high paying positions. These social media influencers are the future of advertising for companies. What people these days don’t realize is that the social media usage that they have on a daily basis is actually a trait that many companies are now looking for in young professionals.

Stay social amigos!

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. UNCLE TONY! love your blog! looking forward to reading your future posts. go get em tony the tiger

Leave a comment